Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Highlights—SEPM Medalists

Each year, SEPM honors a group of medalists for their outstanding contributions to sedimentary geology.  This week, we start a series to honor some of the recipients by providing “Highlights” of their contributions to JSR. 

The 2013 awardees include:

Twenhofel Medalist: Paul Enos. The highest award of SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology. This award is in recognition of "Outstanding Contributions to Sedimentary Geology."
Shepard Medalist: J. Casey Moore. The Francis P. Shepard Medal for Marine Geology is awarded in recognition of "Excellence in Marine Geology."
Pettijohn Medalist: J.A.D. (Tony) Dickson. The Francis J. Pettijohn Medal for Sedimentology is awarded in recognition of "Excellence in Sedimentology."
Moore Medalist: Kenton Stewart Wall Campbell. The Raymond C. Moore Paleontology Medal is awarded in recognition of "Excellence in Paleontology."
James Lee Wilson Award: Kyle M. Straub. The James Lee Wilson Award is bestowed in recognition of "Excellence in Sedimentary Geology by a Young Scientist."
Honorary Member: Dale Leckie.  Honorary Membership in the SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology acknowledges excellence in professional achievements and extraordinary service to the Society.

Medals and awards will be presented to the awardees at the 2013 President's Reception and Awards Ceremony, during the SEPM Annual Meeting held in Pittsburgh, PA on Tuesday, May 21, 2013 in the Omni William Penn hotel.

To all recipients, congratulations on your honor!

No comments:

Post a Comment